1987 Los Angeles Times Book Prizes Winners

Presented at the Los Angeles Times


Hemingway by Kenneth S. Lynn (Simon & Schuster)

Current Interest

The Blind Watchmaker by Richard Dawkins (W.W. Norton)


Fools Crow by James Welch (Viking)


[No award in 1987]

Mystery / Thriller

[Award added in 2000]


Partial Accounts: New and Selected Poems by William Meredith (Alfred A. Knopf)

Science & Technology

[Award added in 1989]

Young Adult Fiction

[Award added in 1998]

The Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction

[Award added in 1991]

The Robert Kirsch Award

Paul Horgan